We all hear the scuttlebutt on Lord Tyrant Watts getting the fastest caster kill during hard core.  Then we hear about him getting DQ’d and losing the title as well as being barred from playing the championship rounds.  The only facts I know of for sure is he was DQ’d during hard core and this what Watts had to say in his own words.

Can be found here http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?32176-Hardcore-news. post 42 (kind of ironic)

Here is what happened. I had used makeda, popped my feat and was getting ready to charge with Karn. I moved her up and said I heal Karn for 1. As I said that a judge interupted me and said that he wanted to make sure I measured correctly because he thought it would be close. So he distracted me here. I go to move Karn and the judge asks for the tape and moves Karn in a manner that he thought to be correct. Karn then charges kills some things and fate walks to ELich. ELich player then moves, pops feat, and asks how much life is on Karn? I show him the card and he says that Karn doesn’t have any spirit. I look down and guess what? When I was distracted by the judge, I only declaired that I was healing and didn’t pull the fury away. I told my opponent I would remove the fury, but the judge DQed me and accused me of cheating.

In the end it really sucks, but unfortunatly it was all a huge misunderstaning in a high pressure situation.

Ahh, well.

Now I think we need to wait and find out what the official Privateer word is on this before jumping to conclusions.  I found this similar to the David Williams cheating situation back in circa 2002-3? where at Pro Tour event he was accused of marking his deck.  Everyone jumped to defend Mr. Williams because they did not want to believe their hero did anything wrong.  Personally having played with the man back before he was big time and having had him to my house for practice sessions I was on his side.  I think what we do now is wait for the facts.  I think we all are waiting baited breath to find out PP’s side and that judge.  The other thing I wonder is if after this will Watts end up selling his stuff and leave the scene, even if it was an honest mistake.  How many people are going to be looking at his game even tighter now? 

BIG PROPS to the Focus and Fury for bringing their A game to Gen Con. I am waiting to see if they held their own and won their own 5 Horseman tournament.

